April 2024

Standouts:

Le Samourai (1967): How this movie isn't already a staple "wow he's literally me" genre movie, I'll never know but in a way, I'm really glad it isn't. This movie is way to good to have its reputation sullied like that, for it's a beautiful, lonely look at the solitary life of an assassin. This is such a cold movie, through both its acting and its visuals, but I mean that in the best possible way. Like Taxi Driver, it takes us into the world of a societal outcast and explores the world of crime through a melancholic lens. It's a very introspective film and I love how it marries its romanticized depiction of a criminal life with the stylings of French new wave. 10/10

Dancer in the Dark (2000): Jesus fuck, this movie's devestating. I wouldn't expect anything less from Lars Von Trier, but this is undoubtedly his most soul crushing movie to date. I love Bjork, both as a person and an artist, and the character she plays here is so damn lovable. That's what makes this movie so heartbreaking when shit really hits the fan. That's what makes it a masterpiece of a tragedy and probably one of the saddest films I've ever seen in my life. 10/10

The Young Girls of Rochefort (1967): A delightful movie with some of the most beautiful costuming and set design you will ever see. This is the second film I've seen from Jacques Demy (the first being The Umbrellas of Cherbourg) and honestly, I can't get enough of his visual style. He has some of the best usage of technicolor I've ever seen, right up there with The Red Shoes and Vertigo. But aside from all that, the music is wonderful (even if I don't speak french) and the story and ovverall vibe is lovely. 10/10

Midnight Cowboy (1969): A gritty, grimy film about the dark side of the American dream, and it's similar to Le Samourai with its themes of urban isolation. I don't know how intentional the gay subtext in this film was but regardless, this works really well as a tragic love story. And I think it works really well with the themes that this film presents, considering its about outsiders trying to get by in a world built against them. Regardless if it was intentional or not, Joe and Ratso's acting and dynamic is fantastic and made the ending all the more sad. 9/10

Being There (1979): Honestly, this movie feels more relevant now than ever before. So much of this film's commentary ended up being really timeless, from the ineptitude of the people we put in charge, to how we've watered down politics to catchphrases and empty statements. It's comedy and very dry and subtle and considering how much of a politically charged film this is, that's something to really appreciate. The only thing that might have not aged to well is how it depicts the mentally disabled, but I don't feel qualified enough to dictate whether Chance is truly offensive or not. Still, it's a great, incredibly smart film. 9/10

Others:

Haxan (1922): 9/10

Tuca and Bertie (2019-2022): 8/10

Vampire's Kiss (1989): 8/10

Belle de Jour (1967): 8/10

Lisa Frankenstein (2024): 8/10

The Iron Claw (2023): 8/10

Detention (2017): 8/10

The Imitation Game (2014): 7/10

Fritz the Cat (1972): 7/10

The Perfection (2018): 4/10